Deducting from my already paltry paycheck

I’ve gotten my first full-time paycheck for a complete 80 hours worked in 2 weeks (actually, it’s closer to 110 hours…if you’re counting the completely useless hours I sit in traffic trying to get to work).

I was so excited, already budgeting and figuring out how to siphon my money into my different accounts and savings. Until I got the paycheck. Now, I understand taxes and deductions were going to be taken out of it but SO MUCH! I mentally started reshuffling all my finances and lengthened my savings goals.

Then I looked closer. What the heck was FICA, FIT, and SIT? It sounded so innocuous but they were drinking my hard earned money away. So, I looked it up:

FICA stands for Federal Insurance Contribution Act. These are usually a flat percentage for your Social Security and Medicare.

FIT is Federal Income Tax and SIT is State Income Tax. These are based on the W-2 form you filled out when you were hired.

Fortunately, if you qualify as a dependent and someone actually claims you as a dependent (sorry, only one person can do this at a time), then technically, no taxes are supposed to be withheld from your paycheck. If you’ve already signed the W-2 form, just report it on your taxes and you should get a big fat refund check.

And hopefully, all the money they withheld for Social Security and Medicare actually shows up after I’m retired. But, I’m not holding my breath for that.

Leave a Reply

